Mossms walking

Tasia Rhode
Jan. 20, 2018
6 years, 2 months ago

Hello everyone! I am new to Mossms. I set up a spot for them in my ship in the sky. Following the directions on this site, I made a walkable floor (unlinked) and walls set to static obstacle. However, the Mossms still walk through them. What is it that I am doing wrong? Thanks!

Asymmetrical
Jan. 22, 2018
6 years, 2 months ago

It's actually hard to say without looking at your setup but I'll do my best to guess at what's going on based on what I see most often.

First, the difference between static pathfinding and dynamic pathfinding is important:

Dynamic pathfinding allows you to take one object and have it move around on it's own, detecting other objects (usually by running in to them) and then automatically moving around the objects. This is very resource intensive and most sim owners don't even enable this feature on their sims. Mossms are not programmed this way on purpose. It would be devastating to a sims performance to have several moving objects constantly moving and banging in to things.

Static pathfinding allows you to create a path that you'd like an object to move on as it travels from point A to point B. The objects that are doing the pathfinding do not detect other objects they simply walk the predefined path. So, in the case of Mossms, pathfinding should be used to tell a Mossm what path it should take to get from one environment to another. If there is not a path defined or no walkable surface from one environment to another the Mossms will take the shortest possible route and this results in them walking through walls.